Shania Twain Opens Up About Losing Her Husband To Her Best Friend

Shania Twain as he embarks on his farewell tour, with stops at Madison Square Garden on Tuesday, its hard not to think about his life as a country song long.

There’s grinding poverty of their rural Canadian children; loss, at 22, of both parents in a car accident; the disease that silenced her singing voice; and betrayal that broke her heart – when her husband / manager went with his best friend.

 

SHANIA TWAIN - 2015 PRESS ART - Photo Credit: Andrew Eccles  PR: Kirsten Schubert, Kirsten.Schubert@pmkbnc.com
“When that happened, I thought, ‘Forget it, this is more than you can handle – I’ll never sing again,'” Twain says Post of the scandalous 2008 romance between Robert “Mutt” Lange and Marie-Anne Thiébaud. “I had to mourn for her.”

As revealed in “From This Moment On”, the page turner 2011 a memoir, there is nothing like being stabbed in the back to lose face – even if that face has been called “perfect proportions”, and which it has sold 75 million albums.

But the author of the pop-country-feminist anthems turning “That do not impress Me Much” and “(if you’re not in it for love) I’m outta here!” It was not for long.

For one thing, she fell in love – with the former Marie-Anne, Swiss Nestle executive Frederic Thiébaud origin, whom he married in 2011. On the other hand, had a son to bring up – Eja, now 13. It is for Eja’s sake, she says, that her relationship with her ex are cordial.

That citizenship does not extend to his wife. “I do not see, ever,” Twain says of his former best friend. “I did not invite the trigger to my life … She’s not my future – it is my last.”

Also gone is the name she was born 49 years ago: Eilleen Regina Edwards. The Twain came later, when his young divorced mother married Jerry Twain an Ojibwa Indian. When a record label called on the young singer to change her name, she insisted on keeping that part of it.

“So I thought: ‘What flows well with Twain'” he recalls. As it happened, the supervisor turns her costume was Shania, an Ojibwa name, and Twain thought it “very beautiful, unique and comes to mean” my way. ‘”

SHANIA TWAIN - 2015 PRESS ART - Dress Rehearsals Caesars Palace, Las Vegas - Photo Credit: Denise Truscello  PR: Kirsten Schubert, Kirsten.Schubert@pmkbnc.com

So it was. His 1995 album, “The Woman in Me”, brought the first of five Grammys, a dizzying race to be stopped in 2004 – when she almost shut in the house she shared with Lange in Switzerland, away from the prying lenses the paparazzi.

“It’s hard to explain,” he says of hoarseness prevented him from carrying out over the next eight years. That sound I go to that note, – “It’s a vicious circle when you have a deterioration in the voice box, which affects you psychologically you get gun-shy”? ‘. ”

In 2012, twain was back, with a residency at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas. And that’s where she thought she’d pull the plug on the realization of good.

“It took a lot of effort to get back on stage again, and I thought, ‘I’d rather finish on top, in that room, in that city,” she says. “I thought that if I managed that, it was time to say goodbye. – Not the music, but to the stage to perform”

But she could not leave without one last tour.

“I will visit the fans, instead of having them visit me,” she says. “It will be completely different from Las Vegas.”

Not only that, but $ 1 from each ticket will go to charity, Shania Kids Can, which helps school children who are struggling socially and economically.

“I always said when I was a kid,” If I ever do, I have to help kids like me, ‘”says Twain.” This tour [let me] give back. ”

Could be a guest in the TV series “Nashville” or “empire” in its future season? She laughs, startled.

“I cannot imagine them both,” she says. “But now you’ve given me something to think about!”

Leave a Reply

